The Fairport Historical Museum
Home of the Perinton Historical Society
The Perinton Historical Society is pleased to announce the reopening of the Fairport Museum.
Beginning August 1, the museum will be open on Saturdays 9am-1pm and Sundays & Tuesdays 2-4pm.
Masks and social distancing are required. The Fairport Museum highlights the history of the Town of Perinton and the Village of Fairport from its early days.
Calling All Rail and Photo Enthusiasts!
Hurry, time is running out….
April 2023 - The installation of the rail viewing platform in 2020 and the more recent arrival of a 1978 Conrail caboose in February of 2023 have made Fairport THE place for rail fans of all ages. The Society wants to share this excitement by displaying rail related photos of all types: local and regional trains, viewing sites, and of course, fans, young and old.
Up to three printed photos of any size per person can be dropped off at the Fairport Historical Museum, 18 Perrin Street, Fairport NY 14450, through the mail slot, sent to the museum, or brought to the museum during open hours by April 30.
Each photo should be labeled on the back with the donor’s name, location taken and an e-mail address. Photos will be featured in the museum in May and June. Some may be posted on the Society’s Facebook page and on our website. Children’s submissions are welcome as well.
Grab a camera and get on board!
u Erie Canal, Family, Farming, Business & Industry Exhibits
u Research Resources for Genealogy, Local Architecture & Early Settlers
u Landmark Building
u Gift Shop; Unique Gifts & Books by Local Authors
The Fairport Museum is operated and maintained by the Perinton Historical Society, a non-profit volunteer organization.
Stop by and enjoy a visit and explore our displays and exhibits, including...
Erie Canal, Family, Farming, Business & Industry Exhibits
The exhibits showcase domestic and family life including costumes and accessories. You can also see historical displays on local settlers, farming, canal development, industries and businesses
The collections are extensive and include many resources for genealogy study, research of architecture and structures, cemetery records, residential directories and biographies of early settlers.
Owned by the Village of Fairport, the former library, now housing the museum, was designated a landmark in 2008. It was built in 1937 in the Palladian/Georgian Revival or Neoclassical style. An18-foot mural by local artist Carl W. Peters in 1938 highlights the interior of the museum.
Our gift shop has many unique gift items as well as books by local authors, postcards, pictures and maps. Select items are available on-line.
Admission is FREE! Donations are welcome.
Memorial Art Gallery Exhibit - Carl W. Peters Murals
Our own Carl W. Peters mural was celebrated at the Memorial Art Gallery (MAG) with the blockbuster exhibit called, Art for the People: Carl W. Peters and the Rochester WPA Murals. The exhibit took place from Oct. 2015 to Jan. 2016.
To see the mural at the Fairport Historical Museum, visit anytime during open hours. Also, on display is the painting “Winter Stream, which is owned by the village of Fairport.